Welcome to East Stroudsburg

Please be advised of the Borough’s paving schedule
for Tuesday, August 22, 2017:

  • Braeside Avenue from Orchard Street to dead end at I-80
  • Lackawanna Avenue from Burson Street to East Broad Street
  • Ochard Street from Brodhead Aveue to Braeside Avenue
  • Spangenburg Avenue from Marguerite Street, west for 200 feet

The Borough of East Stroudsburg has a new Borough Manager!
Read the Press Release for details



East Stroudsburg Borough is preparing an application for a 2018-2023 National Pollution Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) General Stormwater Permit for Stormwater Discharges from Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewers Systems (MS4s) to be submitted in September of 2017 to the PA Department of Environmental Protection (PADEP).  The Borough is required to submit a Pollution Reduction Plan (PRP) to the PADEP as a part of the MS4 application.  The Plan describes potential sediment reduction measures in the Sambo Creek watershed.

The Borough is hereby giving notice of the public comment period on the PRP, which is a requirement of the General MS4 Permit.  The Borough shall accept comments from July 31, 2107 through August 30, 2017.  Written comments may be submitted to the Borough Manager at this address during the comment period.  The plan will be discussed, and the public will have the opportunity to comment at the August 1, 2017 Borough Council meeting.

New employment opportunities available! View our Employment Opportunities

The Borough of East Stroudsburg was created by an Act of the Pennsylvania State Legislature and incorporated as a Borough in 1870. Our municipality includes an area of approximately 2.5 square miles and a resident population of over 10,000.

East Stroudsburg Borough originally was the industrial center of Monroe County due to the railroad. Now it is home to the two largest service institutions in the county, East Stroudsburg University and Lehigh Valley Hospital – Pocono.
The Borough operates under the provisions of the Borough Code of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Borough Council (the legislative branch of the local government) is made up of six (6) members, who are elected by wards. The administrative branch of the Borough government is directed by a professional administrator (Borough Manager) appointed by Council. The elected Mayor serves as the official “Head of State”.  A separately elected Tax Collector is responsible for collecting borough and county real estate taxes.


Click on the following links for more information about the East Stroudsburg Borough:

Print Friendly